The Autistic Journalist

Using words to explain the mind

Two new exploits in one week…fascinating.

leave a comment »

I began a new feature for my YouTube channel to entertain my autism audience on YouTube, called Sixty Seconds on the Spectrum. Depending on how big a following I get, I hope to continue with it in the future to enlighten my viewers on things that I can’t address in the documentaries. I started with Rain Man, a film most people are familiar with, and I’ll move into other people, places or things affecting the autism community.

I’m also going to be a guest speaker for a lunch and learn event hosted by the University of Minnesota’s Disabled Student Cultural Center on Friday after class wraps up. The DSCC plans to show one of my autism documentaries followed by a discussion on how autism is still relevant in my life, just in different ways than 10 years ago. I’m not expecting a large audience simply because the room can’t hold too many people, but I’ve spread the word about the event in hopes of building networks between myself and other people and even among other people. I’ve told my story before to small audiences and am growing more comfortable with revealing some of my dark past, so my nerves are rather low.

However, I did have a first while listening to the Mixed Chicks Chat, at least as far as I can recall. A guest who is part of an organization helping mixed race children spoke about the identity issues most visitors talk about, one of them being constantly asked about identity (What are you…who’s white/black?, etc.). Since I came forward through the documentaries, I find myself drilled whenever I meet someone else affected by autism. Some also interrogate me through Facebook or YouTube. I understand their quest to learn about autism, but I wish people would see me as human. I’ve noticed a few parallels between my obstacles and the obstacles facing multiracial people, and I think that’s why multiracial identity has fascinated me for the last year.

Someday, my wish will be granted.

Written by TheSportsBrain

February 4, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Posted in autism, mixed race

Leave a Reply

