The Autistic Journalist

Using words to explain the mind

An impromptu presentation

leave a comment »

The luncheon event hosted by the DSCC turned out well. For having no idea or guidelines on how the event would work, I’m surprised that I pulled off an impromptu 15-minute speech on my experiences with autism and what my documentary series has done to help others. The DSCC then played my first autism show and it was the first time in a long time where I got anxious over watching myself.

I aired the first documentary two years ago, so it’s a little odd to see myself in the present and absorb what’s happened since then. I never heard from the teacher I interviewed in the documentary and I hardly speak to my friend who was featured; she’s now attending college at Tulane. Even though the “cliques” from high school die off in college, I could still call myself a “floater” or a Lego brick; I can attach or detach myself from any set at any time and not think much of it. It’s the nature of friendships.

About 20 people showed up and more checked out the program as it played. According to the organizers, they said my appearance had the largest turnout for a lunch and learn event. I’m not sure what the future will hold, but if I could draw that many people on a Friday afternoon, I wonder what kinds of people I’ll attract down the line. I even managed to set up additional interviews; one with the DSCC and one to complete the fifth episode in my autism series. I wish I knew how far the documentaries will go, but I enjoy giving people information that proves beneficial to them.

The autistic community is a niche audience, although that could grow soon. Whatever happens, I’m happy to offer assistance.

Written by TheSportsBrain

February 9, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Posted in autism, documentary

Leave a Reply

