The Autistic Journalist

Using words to explain the mind

My turn to be interviewed

leave a comment »

I was interviewed by a member of the U of M’s Disabled Student Cultural Center last week. He happens to have bipolar disorder and I notice his communication skills are different from mine. I’m pretty lax about some little things, so I haven’t said anything yet. If I do get bothered, then I’ll provide suggestions.

Our interview lasted for nearly an hour as we went back and forth sharing stories; his about bipolar disorder and OCD and mine about living with autism spectrum disorder. I was amazed with some of his questions because he didn’t bring a note pad or any form of guideline with him. The only downside is he’ll have to scrub through the entire file (he used a voice recorder). He appears to be more concerned than I am about how the story will turn out. I told him not to worry. Since I don’t get interviewed too often by others (except for my documentaries), I’m curious to see how my story will be told.

I’m actually surprised that I’ve made a documentary series for two years, got an award, yet still manage to go unnoticed with the public. I’m not too egocentric; it took me 57 seconds to notice a camera operator was on me while I called a game, but it’s a fun characteristic of YouTube. People around the world can watch you online, but you can blend in with the public in the outside world. I did get featured on NBC Twin Cities affiliate KARE 11 once, but that’s it in terms of media exposure. Even then, no one stopped me to say I was on TV. In fact, the only time I get stopped at all is if I’m wearing T-shirts from the Nickelodeon game show Legends of the Hidden Temple. The lesson here is no matter how famous you are, life continues to go its way.

I’m being interviewed one more time for the fifth part of my autism series, designed to be a self-reflection episode. I haven’t scouted the other interviews since I taped them last year, but it will be one of my last full screen holdovers. Switching to widescreen after YouTube did the same isn’t very difficult. Look for part 5 to come out sometime in spring.

Written by TheSportsBrain

February 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Posted in autism, documentary

Leave a Reply

