The Autistic Journalist

Using words to explain the mind

Rational behaviors…fascinating

leave a comment »

I’m beginning to discover how tricky anticipating female behavior is. A friend of mine called to vent her frustrations about getting locked outside her apartment after getting drunk the night before and not bringing her keys. Part of her anger was directed at her roommate for locking the door. I was quite baffled. No matter how angry I’d be, I’d want my roommates to lock the door, because I’d get more angry if I found out my possessions were stolen because my roommate didn’t take the time to do so. I attempted to calm her down saying nothing could be done until someone was able to open the door and that getting angry wouldn’t do anything to solve the problem, only to get a response that doing so only makes people angrier. That may be the case for some, but others do really need a reminder that the world isn’t ending. Oddly enough, as she was ranting, she did acknowledge that her emotional reaction may have been irrational.

I’ve had my share of irrational reactions, but I’ve seen what can happen to people who are impulsive instead of logical, and I’m concerned that yesterday’s incident was a foreshadowing of what’s to come. My evidence is anecdotal, but people who act on impulse are generally crankier, more irritable and more likely to make questionable decisions But sometimes logic isn’t always enough and ethical factors must be considered. This isn’t the first time I’ve encountered human irrationality, but something tells me I may have to choose based on what feels right, not necessarily logically right. After all, people don’t like to be told what’s logical, especially if that option comes in the face of dark decisions.

There’s some similarity to this scenario and my observations in the bar atmosphere. More and more, I feel that I would have to sacrifice my character and conform to the conventions of impulsive emotions in order to fit in. Problem is, those choices are more likely to undo themselves.

Interestingly, this blog serves as a nice segue for my next post, since my demeanor may resemble that of a popular fictional character.

Written by TheSportsBrain

May 23, 2009 at 12:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

