The Autistic Journalist

Using words to explain the mind

A few thoughts on MJ’s memorial

leave a comment »

Never did I expect a blog on Michael Jackson would attract any kind of attention to the site. I guess I should have expected the opposite given his nickname: “The King of Pop.”

I missed the live broadcast of the memorial because of errands, but since we’re talking about a “king,” I figured coverage would appear on YouTube and other online sites shortly after the ceremony. A collection of highlights were sorted here.

As far as big-time memorials go, this didn’t deviate from the norm. The only sense of negativity publicly stated about the memorial came from Bill O’Reilly today, but his show (along with pundits on FOX News and other networks) is basically nothing more than a paid blogger stating opinions and facts to fit those views. Screwed up as Michael may have been (his father probably won’t win any best dad awards either), you’d never have guessed it inside the Staples Center. Al Sharpton addressed those issues, but didn’t get into them too much. The theme of the memorial reflected ideas I expressed in my last blog, that so many careers for fellow African-Americans were launched or inspired by the success of Michael and the support he got when he started his solo career. For those who choose to focus on Jackson’s mishaps, he had to do something right for his daughter, Paris, to tearfully say goodbye at the end of the memorial. No one’s perfect, but I don’t think there’s a better compliment than that.

Ultimately, they could have hosted the memorial at Lucas Oil Stadium, Ford Field, or any other enclosed stadium larger than the Staples Center and there still wouldn’t have been enough tickets for fans. Not even the Bird’s Nest in China.

Emotions were intense, but after watching the highlights, I’d want my memorial to be a celebration. I don’t expect any keg parties, but I’ve worked on many SPNN broadcasts and covered many stories for class that were so dry, I could sleep the whole time and not miss a thing. I don’t want to add myself to that category. I want to have laughs, tears, and stories that may give someone something to pass on and make the world more intelligent. In this case, Jackson’s memorial suggests that despite his punch line attraction later on, he was as human as any one of us. For his family and his large fan base, their love for him transcended his gaffes.

Yes, even autistic people are capable of expressing analysis and emotional response to the things around us.

Written by TheSportsBrain

July 8, 2009 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

